A new law has just gone into effect in North Carolina, known as “Raise the Age.” As of December 1st, 2019, North Carolina courts are no longer automatically trying 16- and 17-year-old offenders as adults.
Instead, some crimes committed by Continue reading
Growing up is difficult, and if your child has certain risk factors, he or she may be more likely to “cross over” into delinquency.
This is a big deal, because if a child aged under 16 years old commits a Continue reading
Halloween pranks and partying can be harmless fun. However, if your teen gets involved in the wrong kind of “fun,” he or she could be arrested. North Carolina law enforcement officials will be on the lookout this Halloween for criminal Continue reading
Parents of North Carolina adolescents and teens have all kinds of things to worry about when it comes to their kids. Will they get good grades? Stay safe? Keep away from drugs and alcohol? Not get pressured into sex too Continue reading
This summer, our state passed a law stating that juveniles who are 16 and 17 will no longer be automatically charged as adults for misdemeanors and low-level felonies. We were the last state in the entire country to “raise the Continue reading
When your kid is accused of a crime, your first response may be to worry about the consequences. Will your child go to jail? Will they be able to get into college, or get a good job? Will they be Continue reading
“This is happening in silence.”
That’s how Stephanie Francis, the Director of Education Training and Engagement in domestic violence at Interact in Raleigh described our country’s teen dating violence problem to reporters from ABC 11. Recent studies from Interact Continue reading
Common knowledge often suggests that juvenile delinquent records are “wiped clean” when young offenders reach 18 years of age. Unfortunately, for many young men and women, this just isn’t true. Instead, mistakes they made as adolescents follow them well into Continue reading