Greensboro Weapons Charges Lawyers
Many of the clients of Schlosser & Pritchett represent on weapons charges are ordinary citizens who are carrying a gun improperly in their car. Most don’t even know it is illegal or how serious the charges are.
If you have been charged with a weapons violation in North Carolina, you could face a major fine, probation, or jail time. You could face a serious jail sentence if your weapons violation is connected with another charge, such as a drug crime or robbery.
Weapons charges run the gamut from a misdemeanor to a felony, from a state to a federal crime, based on an individual’s criminal history, the time and place where the offense occurred, the number of weapons involved, and the degree of injury.
Involving a criminal defense attorney is one of the most important actions you can take in the face of allegations or charges of a North Carolina firearms offense.
Types of North Carolina Weapons Charges
The Law Firm of Schlosser & Pritchett represents individuals charged with state and federal gun crimes, such as:
- Possession of an illegal firearm
- Unlawful possession of a weapon
- Assault with a deadly weapon
- Possession of a firearm by a convicted felon
- Possession of a stolen firearm
- Concealed-carry violations
- Minor in possession of a weapon
- Weapons trafficking
We also represent those charged with weapons violations involving guns, knives, brass knuckles, and other dangerous items used to intimidate or harm another person.
Potential Consequences of North Carolina Weapons Charges
Here are some of the most common North Carolina weapons charges:
- Carrying a concealed weapon. To be charged and prosecuted in North Carolina for Carrying a Concealed Weapon offense, you must have been in possession of a concealed weapon such as a stun gun, brass knuckles, bowie knife, or a concealed firearm without a concealed firearm permit, and not on your own property. Carrying a concealed weapon is a Class 2 misdemeanor punishable by 30 days to 6 months in jail. If this is your second offense and the weapon in question is a firearm, the charge is elevated to a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail.
- Possessing a weapon on school property. If you are caught in possession of any weapon (from a BB gun to knives or pistols) on school property, you could face felony charges. This law applies to any school campus, building, or event, from elementary to college. The severity of the charge depends on the weapon in question. Charges range from Class 1 misdemeanor offenses to Class I felonies, with potential prison time.
- Carrying weapons into establishments where alcohol is sold. It is against the law in North Carolina to carry a firearm into a place where admission is charged or any establishment where alcohol is consumed and sold. Typically, this offense is a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail.
- Use of a firearm in the commission of a felony or drug crime. If you have a firearm in your possession when you commit a felony or drug-related offense, the classification for that offense will be elevated. How seriously it affects your potential sentence depends on the charge and circumstances surrounding the offense.
In North Carolina, if you have a felony conviction, you are stripped of your right to possess a firearm. Even if you are not carrying the gun — if it is in your car or your house — as a felon, you may still be charged with a weapons violation.
Schlosser & Pritchett – Greensboro Weapons Charge Lawyers
To preserve your freedom and future, you need a weapons charge defense lawyer willing to fight for you. The Greensboro weapons charge defense lawyers at Schlosser & Pritchett have obtained dismissals and not-guilty verdicts in dozens of felony cases, including many weapons cases.
We know that a conviction for unlawful weapon use will result in serious penalties that can permanently alter or change your life. You may go to jail, be ordered to pay large fines, and even lose your right to own or possess a weapon in the future. We will fight aggressively to obtain the best possible outcome, using our 25 years of successful legal representation in criminal defense. When you have been charged with gun possession or a prohibited weapons crime in North Carolina, having an experienced Greensboro criminal defense team with a background in weapons charges is a necessity you cannot afford to do without.
Call 336.292.4076 or use the convenient online form at the right of the page to submit your information, and we will contact you promptly.