DUI / DWI

Greensboro DUI & DWI Attorney

Greensboro DUI / DWI Attorney

Allegations of drunk driving and criminal DUI/DWI charges have become serious business in the state of North Carolina. A conviction could result in serious penalties. Experience will definitely count in a successful defense of your rights. The Greensboro Law Firm of Schlosser & Pritchett in North Carolina are the best DUI/DWI defense attorneys and will work their hardest to give you that positive outcome.

As experienced North Carolina DUI/DWI Lawyers, our background in these cases is extensive. We have worked closely with clients, many of them college students, in Greensboro, Winston-Salem, Durham, Burlington, Raleigh, High Point, and the counties of Guilford, Alamance, Randolph, and Rockingham. In each instance, we prepared the best possible strategies in their DUI/ DWI cases.

North Carolina’s DUI/DWI Law

North Carolina DWI law states that it is unlawful for any person to operate or attempt to drive a motorized vehicle in the state of North Carolina while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, intoxicants, or any combination thereof with a blood alcohol concentration level of .08% or greater.

If you are stopped under the suspicion of a DUI/DWI, the police officer is immediately building a case against you, starting with your initial behavior. You will be asked to perform some field sobriety tests. You are NOT required by law to submit to the field sobriety tests — you have every right to kindly refuse to submit to them.

You are however, required by North Carolina’s implied consent law to submit to a chemical test. If you refuse to submit to a chemical test, the arresting officer must inform you of the penalties for a test refusal and then ask you a second time if you will submit to a chemical test.

North Carolina’s DUI Penalties

A drunk driving conviction can carry with it serious and long-lasting consequences that include jail or prison time, a heavy fine, and suspension or revocation of a driver’s license. A person who is facing a drunk driving charge should not hesitate to seek immediate legal counsel from an experienced drunk driving defense attorney, such as those who staff our successful criminal practice at the Greensboro Law Firm of Schlosser & Pritchett.

North Carolina First Time DUI

A North Carolina first offense DWI is a Misdemeanor offense. A first offense conviction carries the following fines and penalties:

  • Jail time: Minimum jail sentence is 24-hours or up to the maximum jail sentence of 24 months. The length of the jail sentence term beyond the minimum will be at the court’s discretion.
  • Fines: The minimum fine amount is $100 plus court costs up to a maximum fine of $2,000 plus court costs. At the court’s discretion, they may order you to just serve jail time versus paying any fine amounts.
  • License Revocation: The mandatory revocation period for a first offense violation is 1-year. You may be eligible for limited driving privileges with a provisional license if you meet the requirements for one.
  • Community Service: The court may require a first time offender to perform up to 24-hours of community service.
  • DWI Assessment: You will be required to have a DWI assessment done, the cost being $100. If you get an assessment done right away you can get a provisional license 10 days after your arrest for a first offense. First time offenders who have never been previously convicted of a DWI offense and registered a BAC of .14% or less might qualify for ADETS program which is only 16-hours long and costs $160 for the program.
  • Ignition Interlock: First time offenders who registered a BAC of .15% or greater will be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle for a period of 1-year. The installation and monthly service costs of the device will be at your expense.

North Carolina Second Offense DWI

A North Carolina second offense DWI is a Misdemeanor offense. A second offense conviction carries the following fines and penalties:

  • Jail time: The minimum jail sentence is 7 days or up to the maximum jail sentence of 12 months. If the second offense occurred within 3-years of a previous offense, the jail sentence can be up to 1-year.
  • Fines: The maximum fine amount is up to $2,000 plus court costs. At the court’s discretion they may order you to just serve jail time versus paying any fine amounts. Even if the court orders you to serve jail time in lieu of any fines, you will still have to pay any court costs.
  • License Revocation: The mandatory revocation period is 4-years if the second conviction is within 3-years of a first offense conviction. You may be eligible for limited driving privileges using a provisional license if you meet the requirements for such. If the second offense is within 7-years of the first offense conviction, you will not be eligible for a provisional license.
  • DWI Assessment: You will be required to have a DWI assessment done, the cost of the assessment is currently $100.
  • Ignition Interlock: Second time offenders will be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle prior to having their license reinstated. The installation and monthly service costs of the device will be at your expense.

North Carolina Third Offense DWI

A North Carolina third offense DWI is a Misdemeanor offense. A third offense conviction carries the following fines and penalties:

  • Jail time: The minimum jail sentence is 14 days or up to the maximum jail sentence of 2-years. The length of the jail sentence term beyond the minimum will be at the court’s discretion based upon the circumstances surrounding your case and all previous convictions.
  • Fines: The maximum fine amount can be up to $2,000 plus court costs. At the court’s discretion they may order you to just serve jail time versus paying any fine amounts. Even if the court orders you to serve jail time in lieu of any fines, you will still have to pay any court costs.
  • License Revocation: The mandatory revocation period for a third offense violation is 4-years if there no previous convictions within the past 5-years. If you have had at least one other conviction within the past 5-year period, your license will be revoked for life.
  • DWI Assessment: You will be required to have a DWI assessment done, the cost of the assessment is currently $100.
  • Ignition Interlock: Third time offenders will be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle prior to having their license reinstated. The installation and monthly service costs of the device will be at your expense.

North Carolina Fourth Offense DWI

A North Carolina fourth offense DWI could be classified as a Grievous Felony offense if the three prior convictions occurred within the past 5-years. A fourth offense conviction carries the following fines and penalties:

  • Jail time: The minimum jail sentence is 1-year or up to the maximum jail sentence of 3-years. The length of the jail sentence term beyond the minimum will be at the court’s discretion based upon the circumstances surrounding your case and all previous convictions.
  • Fines: The maximum fine amount for a fourth offense will be at the court’s discretion. Even if the court orders you to serve jail time in lieu of any fines, you will still have to pay any court costs.
  • License Revocation: Your license will be revoked for life following a fourth offense conviction.

Schlosser & Pritchard – Knowledgeable Greensboro DUI/DWI Lawyers

As you can see, North Carolina’s DWI/DUI laws have some leeway, and you need a qualified Greensboro DUI/DWI lawyer to ensure your sentence is minimized. A drunk driving charge is a serious criminal charge.

If you have been accused of a drunk driving offense, you cannot afford not to have effective Greensboro DUI/DWI lawyers on your side. This is when experience truly counts.

Call 336.292.4076 or use the convenient online form at the right of the page to submit your information, and we will contact you promptly