Shoplifting from a retail location is not the most serious crime in North Carolina. If you steal less than $1,000, it’s usually charged as a misdemeanor, and charges don’t typically go higher than a Class H felony. There are associated Continue reading
Most people can remember a time as a teenager when they or a friend were pressured to shoplift. Maybe it was something simple, like candy or a pair of socks. Maybe you got away with it. Shoplifting is typically regarded Continue reading
Generally, theft happens when a person takes someone else’s property without their permission and with the intent to permanently deprive the owner of the property.
So, if you go into a clothing store and take a pair of jeans, intending Continue reading
Retail shoplifting is a growing problem in North Carolina and throughout the US.
According to recent reports, more than 90 percent of companies are victims of shoplifting every year.
In our state, shoplifting is punished as “larceny of goods,” and Continue reading
The first major mistake is not taking the charge seriously. Many people dismiss shoplifting as a minor charge, assuming they will face minimal consequences if convicted for a misdemeanor crime. However, this is far from the truth—a shoplifting charge Continue reading